Search for content, post, videos




Diego Maradona celebrates his team’s goal against Nigeria during the 2010 World Cup Group B soccer match at Ellis Park stadium in Johannesburg June 12, 2010.
Photo by Eddie Keogh winner of the British Airways Sports Photographer of the Year

The first-ever winners of the UK Picture Editors’ Guild press photography contest have been announced at a gala dinner held at Honourable Artillery Company Headquarters, London – above
Alan Sparrow, the Guild Chairman welcoming everyone
Event host TV presenter Kate Silverton (above) introduces the awards
221807.jpg 221823.jpg221842.jpg
Martin Argles of The Guardian collected the 2010 SABMiller Press Photographer of the Year award in addition to gaining the prize for his photo essay of the doomed final days of Gordon Brown’s premiership.selection above
Other winners who all received cash prizes and a trophy were:
British Airways Sports Photographer : Eddie Keogh – Reuters
Royal Photographer: Christopher Jackson – Getty Images
News Photographer: Chris Furlong – Getty Images
02 Celebrity Photographer: Jeff Spicer – Alpha Press Agency
Bloomberg Business Photographer: Oliver Scraff – Getty Images
Newscast Young Photographer: Matthew Lloyd – Freelance/The Times

A panel of judges from national and regional newspaper and agency picture desks selected the winners. Three runners-up in each category were also acknowledged with ‘Commended’ awards. is the official media partner for the UK Picture Editors’ Guild Awards 2010