Search for content, post, videos



Winners of the Picture Editors’ Guild Press Photography Awards 2011

Successful competitors in the 2011 Picture Editors’ Guild Awards were revealed at a gala dinner in London last night (20th September) with Matt Dunham of the Associated Press being named SABMiller Photographer of the Year.
His triumph came after he also secured the title of British Airways Royal Photographer of the Year and commendations in two other categories. His portfolio included a picture (below) published across the world showing a shocked Camilla, Duchess of Cornwall, and Prince Charles as their car was attacked by a rioting mob.
The expanded Awards contest had nine category winners including an innovative section devoted to recognising the impact of ‘Citizen’ photography. Sir Harry Evans, Fleet Street legend and currently editor-at-large for Reuters, presented the prizes of cash and trophies at an event hosted by the BBC’s Kate Silverton in London.
Thousands of images were entered for the contest from press photographers working throughout the United Kingdom and were judged by a panel of 12 senior picture editors representing national and regional publishers and media agencies.
At the end of the Awards evening the full list of winners and commended photographers (listed in alphabetical order) was:
Picture Editors Guild News Photographer of the Year: Carl Court
Commended – Matt Dunham, Paul Hackett, Jeremy Selwyn
Picture Editors Guild Celebrity Photographer of the Year: Dave Benett
Commended – Wattie Cheung, Jon Enoch, Mike Marsland
Bloomberg Business Photographer of the Year: Christopher Ratcliffe
Commended – Jason Alden, Dan Kitwood
Newscast Young Photographer of the Year: Matt Lloyd
Commended – Adam Gerrard, Don Romney, Justin Tallis
Nikon Sports Photographer of the Year: Mike Egerton
Commended – Marc Aspland, John Giles, Ian McNicol
British Airways Royal Photographer of the Year: Matt Dunham
Commended – Chris Furlong, Christopher Jackson, Toby Melville
PhotoBox Regional Photographer of the Year: Anthony Chappel-Ross
Commended – Simon Hulme, Cathal McNaughton, David Moir
BT Citizens Photographer of the Year: Ben Jacobson
Commended – Charlie Forgham-Bailey, Peter Dewhirst, Chris Smith
Fotolia Photo Essay Photographer of the Year: Dan Kitwood
Commended – Mark Bickerdike, Matt Dunham, Jack Hill
SAB Miller Photographer of the Year: Matt Dunham
A Chairman’s Award was made for his contribution to the industry to double Pulitzer Prize winner Horst Faas who travelled from Germany to receive the honour.
Guild chairman Alan Sparrow said:’ Thanks to the magnificent assistance we have received from our growing list of sponsors, the Awards have become a major event to showcase the skill and artistry of the current generation of press photographers. Ours is a competitive and sometimes combative occupation but we come together on occasions like this to celebrate and admire the work of some of our most talented colleagues and rivals.’
Members of the public will be able to see a selection of the winning images at the world class Museum of London from the end of September until next January. The exhibition – uniquely displayed at an outdoor gallery space – has been made possible by technicians at the online photo printers PhotoBox.
View all Winning & Commended images: UK Picture Editors Guild
PAN will have photos of the event online as we get them – so check back later.